RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Sorry if this is a newbie question but I have not found the answer on forum yet

Atreides

I have received a new,  Gen 8 microserver with windows server 2012 pre installed plus some other pre-configured software.

What I have is :-

- Gen 8 ; 8G Ram; ODD DVD burner;  2TB single Drive, software pre-installed

What I want to upgrade to is:-

- Gen 8; 16G Ram; ODD DVD burner; 1TB SSD Raid 0 or 2x1TB SSD Raid 1, Schoondoggy mounted OS drive(s) ; 2x Schoondoggy mounted 1TB "scratch drives" for temp transcoding or video streaming space;  4x5TB data drives in raid 10; I want to keep the ODD.

I have built and upgraded many computers so I am comfortable updating the hardware. 

I have also read many articles in this forum and seen many of the John Stutsman videos here and on YouTube, so I know all of the components I need and MOST of what I need to do.....but I am new to RAID.

Usually, if I buy a base computer and upgrade the hard drive immediately, I image the OS drive with Acronis TrueImage or similar, put the new drive in the old bay and reboot...Done!

So here is my questions....How do I image the existing, single, non RAID spinning drive to a RAID 0 (or 2xRAID1) new SSD OS drive? Is that even possible?

I realize I can start from blank, configure for RAID and reinstall everything but that seems inefficient, plus every time I have don that in the past I spend days finding and fixing configuration issues. 

As I said, I am new to RAID so if what I am trying to do violates the laws of physics I apologize!  Imaging the old OS drive to new OS when I change HDD is my classic move!  I am sure I could still do that if RAID were not desired.

Any pointers or links to forum entries of those who have done this already?

Thanks!

Edited by Atreides