RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Best server network-within-a-network setup

bwnet

Hi all

So I'm a web developer alongside a designer and we rent some office space from another business. I have a spare desktop with Windows 10 that I'd like to setup with Storage Spaces as both a psuedo-NAS, a web development server and somewhere where our Dropbox and Google Drive accounts can be synced and then shared to us as simple network drives. Fairly straight-forward so far. But there are a few questions I have with this setup.

1. In terms of hardware setup, I plan to connect the building's internet connection via ethernet straight into the server. I'd then like to be able to create a network-within-a-network so that I can make the server into a wireless access point and have our systems connect to it. I'd want our systems to be able to see the shared network drives and virtualised server, and access the Internet plugged into the ethernet port, but keep all of that hidden from the rest of the building/wider network. In essence, a one-way system. I thought this could be accomplished with port forwarding/blocking and bridging connections?

2. For the web dev server, I plan to run CentOS in a VirtualBox environment. Failing that, we can use WAMP but my experience has been that its performance is lacking. In any case, the idea being that we can build locally, which should be much quicker. However, from time to time we'd like clients to be able to view their websites from their own systems so we'd probably be looking at dynamic DNS. As the domain/IP is usually intrinsic to the code (for example, on WordPress), is there a dynamic DNS client/server that can map to a domain name and recognise when the server is on the local network (ensuring we don't upload/access via the Internet back to our local server) or on the wider Internet? Perhaps I'm approaching this whole problem the wrong way.