RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

HSS 287

itGeeks

Hi Dave,

Great show this week. I did not know where to post this so I posted it here. I have fully shutdown my Microsoft servers in favor of using Synology NAS, I have never felt more in control of my data as I do now and I am really enjoying the trouble free technology unlike the Microsoft servers that would crash every time I turned around because of bad patches and whatever else. I should of done this a longtime ago. O and did I tell you that my client restores really work on unlike WSE2012 restores? I use Veeam Endpoint backup free for all my client backups now and its been rock solid and yes it does bare-metal, I even have some family members that backup to me at night and that's been rock solid. And did I say Veeam Endpoint Backup is 100% FREE

https://www.veeam.com/endpoint-backup-free.html

Like you Dave I have been running a Microsoft server in my house for many years and I had trouble letting go but after you do it I promise you will feel grate about it :D

I run two DS1815+ in a cluster here at my house then I have a DS414 at my father in-laws that hosts his files local to him and my DS1815+ backs up to him every night & his DS414 backs up his files to me every night, Then I have a DS213 at my daughters house that hosts her files and backs up to me every night. So as you can see we are all well protected with backups, Kind of like a round robin affect. I also installed the DNS server package on everyone's Synology boxes so they have DNS Caching, That made a noticeable different browsing the internet. We also use cloud-station for syncing files up. And there is more but I will end it here. I just want to say these boxes are amazing, It does not seem like there is anything you cant do with them and they are rock solid.

• Like 1

cool. my two home servers have been rock solid and serve me well so a case of ymmv :)