RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Getting started: NAS, VM, HTPC, NVR - can I have it all?

eljay

Hello!

This will no doubt be the first of many posts as I get on the journey of learning about servers as I am a complete newbie in this area, but willing to learn.

I am currently contemplating my whole home "architecture" and want to start it right. Let me layout what I have and where I want to end up and get your input how to best use my sever.

I currently have only one desktop PC (SFF tower with Athlon II X4 640 3.0GHz/4GB/1TB) connected to my 42" HDTV in the living room.  I was about to buy a small barebone to replace the one in the living and mount it to the back of my HDTV and move the Athlon tower to the home office/den for light photo editing etc.

Now, in the meantime, I was going to get a simple NAS, but instead I bought myself an HP Proliant ML310e G8 server with Xeon E3-1220 v3 and 4GB RAM. :) I have 2x2TB WD Red drives to put in it.
My original plan was to install Amahi OS on it from scratch and serve my files to the other two PCs in the home. However, as I was about buy that small PC for the living room it occurred to me that I could probably just run a Windows 7 VM on the HP server instead of buying another PC.

I wonder whether this is possible:
1. install VMWare EXSi on the server (in which case, do I have enough RAM?)
2. install Amahi OS as a VM
3. install Windows 7 as a VM (I have a spare Win7Pro license)
4. get a graphics card with HDMI out and connect the HP server to the HDTV via HDMI-to-Cat6-to-HDMI connection. I want to use the Cat6 cable since I want to put my server in a closet behind the living room and connect it to my home's structured wiring panel.
5. Connect my USB wireless keyboard/mouse to the server and use the Windows 7 from the living room HDTV as if I had another living room PC.