RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

New to the club - Advice appreciated

johnnyspice

Hi everyone,

I've just ordered an MS gen8 (G1610T), 16gb ram and x2 WD Red 3TB drives.

As I'm new to this and have spend a few hours now googling and researching this site, I wanted to ask a few of questions so that I'm ready to rock and roll when my server arrives. I'd appreciate any help you guys can give me:

• I've noticed that people like to mount a SSD inside the server in order to host the OS. This seems like a good idea, but wanted to know if there was any operational difference between mounting the drive in the optical bay vs to the side of the PSU? There seems to be a lot of debate about fan speeds and temperatures.

• In terms of SSD (I'd like to run Linux), what size would be adequate?

• Is there a particular model I should purchase?

• Before I even start installing the OS, I'm pretty sure I'll need to update the BIOS, firmware etc. Will intelligent Provisioning handle all this for me or will I need to do something specific? Will i need to watch out for something in particular if I'm using Linux?

• I'd like to run Ubuntu server on this setup. Is this wise? Is there anything I need to be aware of?

Thanks Everyone.

kind regards,

John

Before I even start installing the OS, I'm pretty sure I'll need to update the BIOS, firmware etc. Will intelligent Provisioning handle all this for me or will I need to do something specific?

In my experience the intelligent provisioning isn't so intelligent, it kept trying to install 'newer' updates for firmware which, according to the intelligent provisioning tool itself, I already had a new version of, so keep an eye on the versions when doing firmware updates and check it isn't downgrading you.

What I did was download the latest service pack from here; http://h17007.www1.hp.com/us/en/enterprise/servers/products/service_pack/spp/index.aspx