RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Two Windows Server 2012 R2 Setup

oceang

Guys, I have no real background in networking or domains. All of my knowledge on Server 2012 R2 is based on many years of IT experience (mainframes and SAP), and a lot of googling and forums like this.

To this point I have operated in a single server environment and used sneaker net to maintain offsite backups of my server and key folders.

I have recently decided to try to setup a more automated offsite backup for my main server.

1. My main server is a N54L running Windows 2012 R2 with the Essentials role. This replaced my original WHS2011 server.

I have now re-purposed my old WHS2011 box and have installed another copy of Windows Server 2012 R2 on it.  I have joined it to the domain on my main server and it is running fine.

It shows up in the Essentials Dashboard and also in Server Management. I have also successfully created a new shared folder on my main server that actually lives on the second server..

What I would like to do is setup some Robocopy (maybe) scripts to copy changes to key folders (eg photos, client computer backups) to the second server seed it,  and then relocate the second server to my daughter's place.

Is there any way, I can do this and still leave it as part of the domain?

2. Is it possible to activate the Essentials Role on the second server so that the pc's in my daughters can also be backed up to this server?  I have read conflicting information on what happens when you activate another 2012 R2  with Essentials role in the same domain.

3. Would I be better off looking at something like Crashplan?

I would appreciate any specific advice or just some key things I can google to research further.

Thanks, Tim.

Tim

Theoretically yes to points 1 and 2 but (and it really is a big but!), you will need to have your and your daughter’s home network arranged in a specific manner.