RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Jason

SSL Certificates for Home Use?

Jason

I've been using a GoDaddy SSL Wildcard Certificate for the past 2-3 years for home use.  Primarily because it's recogonized by all iOS devices, etc. on each of my home servers on same domain.

But GoDaddy SSL Wildcard certs are pretty expensive ($299/yr).  I don't want to create a self-signed wildcard cert, but can anyone recommend any other economical options they use?

dataoscar

StartSSL offers free certs. There is also an open source project trying to do the same. https://letsencrypt.org/

Drashna Jaelre

StartSSL offers free certs. There is also an open source project trying to do the same. https://letsencrypt.org/

If it needs the intermediary CA installed, then it's a problem. As doing so would absolutely require a pin or or passcode on your devices. 

It also doesn't support IIS at all, apparently. 

And unfortunately, short of setting up your own CA, and signing against it... (see above for why), there isn't a great solution here. 

Jason

Thanks for the input. Looks like I may need to stick with GoDaddy. Just need to find a promo code for a SSL Wildcard renewal :-)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dataoscar

Curios because I don't know, why would the intermediate CA need to be installed on devices?

Andne

I don't know about iOSdevices, but the startssl root certificate is installed on windows computers by default.  I generated a certificate from them over a year ago (and renewed it this spring) and have never had issues using it with 2012 Essentials.  I think that domain verification is only good for a a month or so, but I just re-verify each time I need a certificate for a different host name.  They have options for more advanced certificates as well, but those cost money and I haven't really needed any of them.