RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
580guy

Anyone else running the Lenovo Thinkserver TS440?

580guy

Just curious if anyone else has some experience with this server.  It seems most of the posts are for the TS140.  I will be setting one up this week as a media server, replacing an HP EX-495 running 12 - 2TB drives in eSATA & USB enclosures.  I have struggled with eSATA drives dropping offine for years so I wish to rid myself of external drive enclosures and run all my drives internally if I can, but I will still have to run a couple off of USB 3.0 which I hope is solid, as I have never used it before.  As my drives die off, I will be replacing them with 4TB drives, and eventually be able to run all of them internally to maintain my level of storage.

I will be running WHS 2011 for the time being, it's been a solid system so far along with Stablebit Drivepool and FlexRAID.

I will not be doing hardware RAID, just JBOD.  I've been able to download and read the manuals and that seems to be the defaults for the Thinkserver 500 RAID controller.

I don't expect too much trouble.  Hopefully just insert my drives, config the startup, config some drivers etc and go.

Will also have to transfer some licenses and re-activate WHS 2011 I'm sure.

This model supports 8 - Hot Swap drives, and should do 10 with the two external 5.25 drive bays. (I'll be removing the optical drive).

Would appreciate any tips or info when setting this up or any other experiences any have had with the TS440.

• Like 1

HellDiverUK

Be aware you have to buy the second hot swap backplane, and all the sleds.  It makes a cheap server pretty expensive.

580guy

Thanks for the reply. I neglected to say that my server does have the second backplane already. I did have to buy the extra drive caddies though. I thought it was a pretty good deal for $549 shipped. I hope to be able to put in 10 hard drives using the top two five and a quarter inch drive bays.

Do you happen to operate one of these units?

580guy