RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Hello, I recently picked up a Dell PowerEdge 2950 Server III 2x3.0GHz E5450 Quad Core.  I am VERY new to building a home server or even dealing with them, so please forgive me.  I wanted to ask everyone out there what the best OS would be for my first build.  I want to try and accomplish the following with my server: [/size][/font][/color]

Host my own website
Host my own email service (through my own domains) for personal use. 
run a cloud server for personal storage that I can access from anywhere holding media and other files.  
create back ups for both Mac and PC machines
Create a VPN for my network. 

I know this is possibly a tall order for my first build, but I would like to play around with all of these.  I have read a lot about different operating systems, and they just seem to be all over the place with reviews and price.  I understand that there are many free software options, but don't know if some of them will support everything I want to do.  I wouldn't mind paying for an OS if it is worth it, but would prefer cheaper version after seeing some of the prices.  

I am not computer illiterate but have much to learn about servers.  

Thanks in advance for any advice.  I am greatly looking forward to getting into the world of servers.

I'll take the bait. In this forum you will find many people using WHS or Essentials. They have explicit features for backing up other computers as well as themselves.  :)

Since you chose a Linux category for your posting, I will defer to others on specific open source recommendations. (I am presently all-microsoft at home but this changes over time.) I do know that Centos has lots going for it but there are so many distributions available it could be overwhelming to choose. Even then some trial-and-error may be required.

Good luck on your journey!

Edited by nrf
  • Like 1

Amahi.

Have you checked it out?

https://www.amahi.org/

It is designed to be an open source answer to WHS.