RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

RAID and Intel Rapid Storage Technology (RST) -- Confused

CraigJConrad

Hi!  I have an ASUS Sabertoot Z77 with Windows Server 2008R2.  ASUS doesn't officially support Server versions on this motherboard, but I've been running it successfully 24x7 for over two years (with credit to Joe_Miner for info that got my ethernet working!).  It was set up for two RAID arrays:  A RAID 1 (mirror) with SSD drives for booting, and another RAID 1 (mirror) with a pair of 4TB SATA drives for data (single drive letter).  The RAID driver appearing in Device Manager for the controller is "iaStor.sys 11.1.0.1006 02/01/2012".

I never had Intel's RST (Rapid Storage Technology) installed, so I don't have the Windows GUI application to let me see the RAID or make changes to it -- I only have access via BIOS.

Last week, I replaced the pair of 4TB drives with new 6TB drives and created the RAID in the BIOS.  I then attached one of the old drives to another controller port and re-booted into 2008R2.  There I setup the new drives, formatted, etc, then copied (via RoboCopy) everything from my old drive to the new RAID.  Once completed, I removed the old drive.

Everything has been fine as far as I can tell, but I would really like to be able to see the RAID's state while in Windows 2008R2.  Then it occurred to me -- how do I really know that the RAID is working at all?  So, here are my questions:

1. Does the BIOS setup actually implement the RAID, i.e., do both drives truly have a mirror of one another already?
  2. If the RAID failed, would I get a message I would see in the OS, or only if I go into BIOS?  I know that if I had RST I would get a clear message in the lower-right of the desktop (I have RST on another system, so I am familiar with it), and could then go into RST GUI to see details.