RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

kvm on gen8

Riz

Hi

Has anyone installed kvm on on debian/centos on gen8

I don't want to install Vmvare or MS hyper-v

I want to install kvm , and then run run different vms with xpenology, mail-server-vm, pfsense-vm/another-software-firewall 

is there any articles that you can point?

Thanks

Riz

I'm used a E3-1265L v2 processor with 16gb RAM; I don't know what performance would be with the stock CPU...

As an amateur hobbyist, I've played with KVM and the stock 1610T processor (and 4 GB of RAM). I only ran one guest (Sophos UTM firewall) and found performance good. The stock processor does lack one of two virtualisation instructions and PCI pass-through is not supported. This might be a (performance) problem if you have installed a PCI card.

I'm running Proxmox with KVM virtual machines on the MicroServer Gen8 (just the Celeron G1610T -- 10 GB RAM).  So far I've just got pfSense plus a Server 2012 R2 VM running -- one core for each.  Seems fine so far, but I'm not really putting it under load.  I'd imagine if I start adding more VMs and actually putting them under load, it will start to suffer a bit.. I did notice that my Server 2012 R2 instance seems to spike to 100% CPU when doing some things such as Windows Update (TiWorker.exe processes).  I'm not sure if this is the result of virtualising, or just Server 2012 itself.  I tried changing the VM to pass through the host CPU, but this didn't seem to make any difference.

I'll have to test it a bit more with normal usage scenarios (whatever that may be -- I'm just experimenting for now) to see how it runs.  I'm running VirtIO for NIC and Disk.