RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Jelp a newbie

kavejo

Hello everyone,

I'm a new owner of an HP Microserver Gen 8, actually, I will be next Tuesday when ServersPlus will be delivering it.

I have few questions as I'm pretty new to this world. I really wish to get some suggestions and some directions as it seems there are very knowledgeable members in this forum.

I plan to use the MicroServer as a NAS, most likely running OpenMediaVault (Debian based).

I have bought the GT1610T version, added 16 GB of RAM, a Radeon HD5450 graphic card and 2 x 3TB WD Red drives.

The 2 WD Red will be set up in Raid1, I will be adding 2 x 1.5TB WD Green in Raid0 at a later stage (when I will decommission the current NAS).

I do not plan to add any other raid card (like the P222).

Given the 4 bays will be occupied by data drives, the first question is where to install the OS.

I will be using possibly a MicroSD or the internal USB, how do you boot from these devices? Won't the B120i take precedence?

Do i need to install any driver to get Debian to recognize the smart array?

I'm aware that USB flash drives and SD card Re not reccomended for write intensive application but OMV won't be.

Alternatively, speaking of SSD, what do I need to mount it in the ODD bay?

Are a SATA cable and a Molex to SATA enough? If so, where about on the mo-bo is the free SATA connector? And where is the spare Molex?

Would this device be recognized from the B120i and managed from it?

Speaking of drivers/firmware, how do I update the various things (ROM, iLO, IP, etc.)?

Is there any way to update pretty much everything prior to install any OS?

Can I use IP to install OpenMediaVault or do I need to boot from USB/external DVD and set it up the old fashion?

Can I perform all the above steps headless (no mouse/keyboard/monitor)? If so, how?

Any other suggestion, please feel free to share.

For the cables, if you have any link from Amazon.co.uk, please let me know so I can maybe walk the SSD route.