RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

B120i issues with Ubuntu 14.04

skusa

Hi All,

HSS newbie here.

Having a bit of trouble getting raid on my g8 going with Ubuntu Server 14.04. (Was using FreeNas with software raid for a while, but decided to switch to Ubuntu very recently).

Basically, following the guide here or the HP Advisory for installing with the raid drivers shows no disks. Removing the ahci blacklist fixes the issue, and I can install Trusty via AHCI no problem.

On POST, the controller boots with firmware (3.54), but so does the AHCI controller immediately afterwards, leading me to suspect that the AHCI is taking over?

Bios is latest (June 2014), and so is Intelligent Provision (2.00). 

Have run the 2014.09 service pack disk via iLO virtual disk, but no updates were made to the b120i.

Installing the HPVSA driver after installation has no effect, the driver does not load (checked via lsmod). lspci shows an intel sata controller - i presume this is the fake ahci stand-in?

The b120i is enabled in the bios though and setup as follows:

There are two WD Red's in bays 1 & 2 (raid 1, 1st logical volume), followed by a Samsung 320GB laptop hdd in the ODD bay installed in a caddy (raid 0, second logical volume).

Stock memory installed.

Furthermore, the iLO web interface can't see the b120i when Ubuntu is running, but can see it when the Array configuration utility is running.

Any insight appreciated! :)

The b120i controller is actually just special HP firmware together with the built in Intel SATA controller. It isn't a hardware RAID controller as everything is done by the main CPU.

Basically, following the guide here or the HP Advisory for installing with the raid drivers shows no disks. Removing the ahci blacklist fixes the issue, and I can install Trusty via AHCI no problem.