RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Server to NAS

Poppapete

I see PCDoc, Mike Faucher is going to shut down 2 of his 3 servers and replace them with a QNAP-TS-451 to save space and power. Quite a few folk going this way!

I've looked at that unit too. It's a bit pricey to my mind, but better than a Synology. The only thing is, Syno's DSM is just about the best NAS/home server OS I've seen. Of course, I have no knowledge of QNAP's QTS OS, so I don't have a basis for comparison.

Amazon has it for $456 and I assume he will have enough HD's from his decommissioned  servers. The problem with the Server 2012 E R2 is the price of the software alone will buy a good NAS.

Then for $250 Mike Howard has a big wrap for the Mediasonic 4 bay raid storage device but it is not a NAS.

I've more or less abandoned my server, and I'm now running an Asustor AS5104T.  J1900 CPU, 4GB RAM.  I've no particular regrets.  I probably would have bought the 8 bay version if it was in stock anywhere, the 4 bay is a little restrictive.

Those Asustor are even higher priced than the QNAP, at least in Canada. The problem I find with all these small boxes is that they're underpowered. They have plenty of power if all you want is to serve files and do backups, but they don't if you actually want to run more than 1 or 2 of the built in apps. That's why I've been looking at Xpenology.

Those Asustor are even higher priced than the QNAP, at least in Canada. The problem I find with all these small boxes is that they're underpowered. They have plenty of power if all you want is to serve files and do backups, but they don't if you actually want to run more than 1 or 2 of the built in apps. That's why I've been looking at Xpenology.