RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Gen8 Adaptec 6805E ESXi Passthrough problems

Oceanic

Hi

This is my first attempt at virtualisation and using a “proper server” and I’m hitting some pass-through problems using ESXi with an Adaptec 6805e that I am hoping someone can help me with

Background :

I bought a HP ProLiant MircoServer Gen8 G2020T (B120i 2x1Gb 1x4Gb 2x1Tb SATA LFF NHP DVD-RW 1x200W) a few months ago for £230 and promptly upgraded it with 16Gb, a E3-1265LV2 processor, two 6Tb WD Reds for data storage and a 500Gb Samsung 840 SSD for OSs (mounted using the excellent Schoondoggy drive bracket)

The main reason for purchase was to:

• replace an ageing HP MediaSmart EX495 which was primarily used as a NAS for storage of photos and docs

• to become familiar with virtualisation technology

• to become a Plex server for the house

• to run a Linux LAMP server for web development

• and maybe a NVR if I can find the right software

I initially was looking at FreeNAS but after research found that it should not be used on virtual servers in production and would required me to purchase an extra two 6 Tb drives as a minimum to work. Ideally I was looking for a solution that allowed me to plonk additional drives in as I need them, so I parked the FreeNAS option for the time being.

I had read good things about DrivePool used in conjunction with Stablebit Scanner and liked the fact that I could keep added and changing drives in the pool (unlike FreeNAS that seemed very restrictive in that respect) and the fact that it would auto migrate data onto another drive if it was in danger. I also read that the drives should be presented to the OS in AHCI mode for the stablebit scanner to work to its full potential (via SMART). I looked at WS2012R2Essentials but couldn’t justify the costs so decided to go with WHS2011 to install DrivePool/Scanner software on.