RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Protecting client backups against cryptowall?

Merconium

I've got Server 2012 R2 running an Essentials R2 role solely to protect my academic work via nightly backups (and File History). I didn't join the domain.

From what I understand, the exe runs on the client computer but can encrypt shares visible to said client over the network (hence so many posts about NAS users getting hit). The only mapped folders are Company and Users, and I don't keep anything I care about in there. 

As far as we know, so long as I don't execute cryptolocker or cryptowall on the server itself, the exe wouldn't see Client Computer Backups or File History Backups, correct? Are there any permissions settings that I should double check (obviously I'm an admin on the local domain, etc.)?

If there is a threat to those unmapped folders, would a honeypot like the one described by the OP a little ways down here be helpful in this case? (For folks with substantive user folders on the server, it seems like a necessary precaution.)

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ikon

• Drashna Jaelre

• Trimble Epic

• revengineer

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I don't think you're being paranoid even a little bit. You may or may not know, but I have 4 to 5 copies of all my data.

Nothing at all against any of the info already posted, but I can't help but think that one good strategy for protecting clients is have a robust backup strategy. That way, if a client gets 'violated'

Yeah, absolutely. Just wanted to throw the term in there, in case anyone wasn't 100% sure.   And it still begs the question: exactly how does the backup get initiated? Does the server use WoL? I've

revengineer