RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Newbie seeking configuration help

Rolfeo

I have just received a HP ProLiant Gen8 G1610T MicroServer that I shipped from the UK to Cape Town (where I've emigrated to) and would like to use it as a home media and storage server.

It has 16GB RAM, a Samsung 120GB SSD and 3 x WD Red 3TB drives.

I need advice on the best configuration for my needs.

I need a storage server as I want to do regular backups for my business and my wife's studies.

I also want to run Plex to use through my Xbox 360.

I am a complete newbie with servers but am adept with PCs so I don't mind doing things a beginner may not want to.

I have a few questions:

What RAID would be best to use?

Which OS should I use? (I can't buy WHS 2011, but have downloaded a Windows Server 2012 torrent, I'm also fine with Ubuntu and FressNAS, all I want is ease of use).

Which is more reliable for the OS, a USB stick or the SSD?

Could i run the OS from a stick, use the SSD for my business/docs backups and use the 3 x 3 TB drives for my Plex server?

Thanks for any help guys.

This site has an abundance of information and I feel a little overwhelmed by it all.

Unless you're running an OS that doesn't write to the system drive, such as ESXi, I would use an SSD over a USB stick. Definitely do not run a Windows Server from a USB stick.

If you do run a Windows OS, I would recommend looking at DrivePool or DriveBender for pooling the data drives instead of using RAID.

I'll second the DrivePool suggestion (I'm biased though).

As for the OS, if you go windows... Do yourself a HUGE favor and grab this instead:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/evalcenter/evaluate-windows-server-2012-r2-essentials

Official ISO with a 180 eval period. You can activate to retail/OEM if you do decide to purchase it.

(also 2012R2 has some improvements).

You can use Plex on the 2012(R2) Essentials as well. Requires you to login, or find alternative ways to load it.