RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Sign in to follow this  
Simon_

What is the best free OS for gen 8

Simon_

What OS can I install today for free as a total noob?

What Linux os will not give me problems with the b120i controller and will install out of the box?

I have been trying to get centOS to play nice but the guides are all half baked and expect me to know what to do for some steps

My BIOS is set to raid with an SSD in sata5 and it just needs an OS so I can run VMs on it.

ikon

One of the hallmarks of a lot of Open Source software is that the guides are half baked. The only Linux I use now is Untangle, and I don't really have to know anything about Linux to do that. But, when I did use Linux more regularly, I found the best way to figure out how to make something work was to search and search and put tidbits from various sources together to make a clearer picture.

Simon_

One of the hallmarks of a lot of Open Source software is that the guides are half baked. The only Linux I use now is Untangle, and I don't really have to know anything about Linux to do that. But, when I did use Linux more regularly, I found the best way to figure out how to make something work was to search and search and put tidbits from various sources together to make a clearer picture.

Indeed thats what my experience has also been tidbits here and there and a lot of searching and trial and error. However in my case trial and error costs more time as I might have to reformat the drives and reboot the system which seems to take an age. 

Royco

RHEL has excellent documentation and support, but is not free (it is opensource). The free distributions have community written documentation and these sometimes are half baked.

Linux has a certain logic to it (for example, configurations files are located in /etc). The difficulty comes with certain programs, who supply meager information (sometimes a few cryptic 'man' lines).