RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

New to forums! Seeking Advice - Windows Server - Where to start?

Trimble Epic

Hi!

I've been listening to the podcast off and on for a while now... but just in the last 3 weeks I've really dived in...

So I've been running a WHS v1 server with 10tb for several years.  I skipped 2011 because 1) I wanted to keep my drive expander 2) it wasn't broke so don't fix it.  guilty :P

Ok, so I've started to build a new server... I've aquired a TS140 i3 version with 12g ecc ram. (willing to add more if needed)  I'm trying to decide how I should use it.

I have a daughter with a .edu address, so I have dreamspark access and have gathered keys for WS2012R2 (and iso's)

I also have downloaded ESXi 5.5 as I was thinking of using that under the WS... Is that a bad Idea?  Should I use Hyper-V instead?  Should I put WS on the bare metal?

Here are my goals:

1) file server serving storage from my collection of drives: some 1tb, some 1.5tbs, some 2tbs..   so maybe storage spaces?  stablebit?

2) Plex Server. (media on the file server)  currently using my gaming machine to host this... I want to move it off the high energy rig so my gaming machine can sleep again.

3) Minecraft server.  the kids love it.  Currently using YAMS on my gaming rig.  usage is only 4 people MAX

4) Terraria server.  I might not need this, its just for one kid and me, and i could just have him serve it from his gaming box instead

5) Ventrilo or Teamspeak server.  My wife's idea of "vacation" is to sometimes stay home and we all journey to azeroth for a week, using our machines scattered around the house.  We use vent while exploring.

6) possible home automation server in the future.

Obviously, the gaming servers could share a vm and only be brought up as needed.