RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Sign in to follow this  
pressieguy

picopsu in N40L

pressieguy

Hi there,

im complete newbie (and probably sound dumb asking these questions) and its been a while since i fiddled around with my N40L. 

My N40L PSU died just recently and im looking at replacing it with a picopsu. im a bit confused whether my components can handle it.

• my N40L has a Radeon 5450
  • 2x4GB DDR3 RAM
  • 1 sata 280GB 
  • and 4TB hard disk.
  • i may use external usb hard drives and other bits and bobs in the usb ports.

Sadly, i cant remember what else i had built this up with. 

was wondering if anyone would know if a picopsu 150w be enough to power this?

ive tried using power supply calculator however its saying it recommends 185w of power and pico doesnt go that high.

any help be much appreciated and please let me know if i need more information about my build.

thanks

Edited by pressieguy

ikon

Someone else had problems doing this. IIRC, when he attached the picoPSU, his SATA drives would not power up, at least not properly. When he installed a proper HP PSU everything worked fine. I speculated that it might have something to do with the 12V rail not having enough capacity.

yud

Hi there,

im complete newbie (and probably sound dumb asking these questions) and its been a while since i fiddled around with my N40L. 

My N40L PSU died just recently and im looking at replacing it with a picopsu. im a bit confused whether my components can handle it.

• my N40L has a Radeon 5450
  • 2x4GB DDR3 RAM
  • 1 sata 280GB 
  • and 4TB hard disk.
  • i may use external usb hard drives and other bits and bobs in the usb ports.

Sadly, i cant remember what else i had built this up with. 

was wondering if anyone would know if a picopsu 150w be enough to power this?

ive tried using power supply calculator however its saying it recommends 185w of power and pico doesnt go that high.