RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Making good use of old or spare tablets/smartphones

oj88

The background: I got into the Arduino prototyping bandwagon last year because I wanted to create a clock that can regularly query an atomic timekeeper via NTP on the internet. My lame excuse was that I simply got tired of correcting quartz clocks every several weeks because of poor movement accuracy. I'm an engineer and I always love a challenge... but I don't like taking down wall clocks to fix them.

Yes... lame.

Even more lame however, is that the plan didn't panned out. I can bore you with the details but that's not my reason for writing this post.

Anyway, I went for the easy way out. Why not use a tablet? I had an extra one (at the time) lying around so instead of selling it at practically zero value, why not convert it into an appliance? It's already got a processor, a display, and thousands of ready-made apps.

This was the first ever tablet from Samsung, the Galaxy Tab P1000. We bought this in Dec 2010. It has since been rooted and currently runs Cyanogenmod firmware. I had to literally sift through dozens of clock apps before I settled with the one below. I also added a utility that will regularly synchronize the time with a time server. It's permanently plugged in using a modified USB cable (to allow it to charge at full-current using any 3rd-party charger). I installed this last October 2014 and so far, it has never needed any intervention. Most of all, it's always accurate!
DSC_0046_zpsvsqlzb9w.jpg

Next is a Starmobile 7TV+ (a local PH brand). I bought this last month because I wanted a portable analog/digital TV... just for the heck of it. After the wow factor have died, I made it into a CCTV monitor on my bedside table. I only keep this turned on at night (or when we're waiting for the pizza delivery guy). Please don't laugh at the makeshift stand. You have to thank the Brits for their oversized, three-pronged plug!
606c7b4a-1a49-4241-888f-488b5c695d53_zps