RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
PCEddie

What Web Host Provider Do You Use?

PCEddie

Hey All,

I am thinking of moving my current web site to a web host provider and create the web site using WordPress. I do have some experience with web sites but I am still a novice. What web host provider do you use to host your web site? What services should I be looking for when selecting a web host provider? I don't expect the web site to generate a lot of traffic but I want my side business presence to be better represented on the internet.

Thanks for any information.

Matthew Guay

I just recently moved my site www.techinch.com to DreamHost this month after having quite a bit of trouble with my old host, MochaHost. I can't speak for everyone, and once again I've only been with them for almost 2 weeks, but DreamHost has been great sofar. Almost perfect uptime, speed is great, and even live tech support chat that knows what they're talking about integrated into the dashboard. I've heard people say they can have trouble if you're hosting a site with massive traffic on the shared hosting plan, but that's to be expected. If you decide to check it out, let them know that I refered you and enter my email maguay@live.com in the referral box ;)

On things to look for, I'd look for what limits the company puts on shared hosting plans. Many of them claim unlimited everything, but then don't tell you what they'll cut you off for. That's what happened with my old host; they said my site was taking up too much CPU time, and just pulled it offline. DreamHost actually lets you see the performance of your MySQL database, which is the most common thing people have trouble with on shared hosting with WordPress. They have told me they will let you know if you're site is using too many system resources and help your fix it rather than just pulling it offline, though again, I've only been with them for 2 weeks, so that's not enough time to really know.