Jump to content
RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Default share chaos?


Recommended Posts

I guess what the OP is really asking is why, if he opens Windows Explorer on a client computer, clicks Network, then clicks on the WSE2012 server name, do all these extraneous shares show up in the right pane?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Drashna Jaelre

I guess what the OP is really asking is why, if he opens Windows Explorer on a client computer, clicks Network, then clicks on the WSE2012 server name, do all these extraneous shares show up in the right pane?

Because they're default shares, and required by different aspects of the server.

 

The "Shared Folder" share was implemented in Essentials to help clean up this mess, and is why it's added to "This PC" and the desktop. That way, you use that instead of the "computer name" which shows all the "service shares" (for a lack of a better term).

 

Domain Shares

CertEnroll:  Part of the Certificate Authority role on the server (required for the connector software, IIRC)

SYSVOL: group policy share, contains group policy objects and other related files. Absolutely necessary for a domain.

NETLOGON: logon and startup scripts for the server. Absolutely necessary for a domain.

REMINST: If you enable the Client Restore Services, this is the location of the PXE (network/diskless boot) images. Or if you install and configure Windows Deployment Services manually. 

 

 

Essentials shares: 

File History Backups: used for a default location of this feature (backs up user folders)

Folder Redirection: if enabled, this feature maps the user folders to the shared folders, meaning that you'll have access to the same content on multiple different computers in the domain.

Users: I don't even know. If you have the folder Redirection share.... these should have been merged, as they essential serve the same purpose now....

 

Shared Folders: it's a "DFS" (distributed file system) share, that allows you merge multiple locations (including network locations) into a single share, for easier management. This is the location that is linked to, and that you should use.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Drashna Jaelre

Yeah, that would make sense... but that would mean changing a decade's worth of code and making sure it all works right.....

And you know how that goes. You change one small thing, and IT professionals all over the world throw a fit. 

And this would break backwards compatibility....

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...