RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

My HP ProLiant Gen8 home lab

georgio

I think is fair to give back to the community so I will describe my home lab environment.

I am an IT professional. Besides programming banking related software part of my job deals also with the design and implementation of HA enterprise environments for financial institutions. I always wanted to play with the same stuff from work at home but the price tag for the toys from work ( >$500.000 enterprise hardware ) is too much for me to have at home.

The inner geek is exalted after several months of buying diferent bits of a home made HA enterprise environment.

Here the toys called nas1 and nas2

NAS1:

1. HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8, Procesor Intel® Pentium® G2020T

2. 16GB of RAM  2 x Kingston KVR1333D3E9S/8G Arbeitsspeicher 8GB (1333 MHz, 240-polig, CL9) DDR3-RAM

3. SSD boot drive on ODD port: Crucial CT240M500SSD1 2.5-inch 240GB M500 SATA 6Gb/s Internal Solid State Drive

+ Gembird Molex F - Molex M + SATA M, 13.5cm

4. 3TB linux md RAID5 (1X1.4TB Seagate Barracuda + 3x1TB Seagate Barracuda) - legacy disks from my old raid machine.

5. Back-up Device LG BE14NU40 Super Multi Blue externer BluRay Brenner (14x Speed, USB 3.0)

6. Power Backup UPS nJoy Isis 1000L

7. HP ILO ADVANCED PK SINGLE SVR

8. Linux Fedora 21

NAS2

2. 4GB of RAM 2 x original HP DDR3 (the dimm that came with NAS2 + the one that came with NAS1)

3. SSD Boot drive on ODD port:  SSD Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB SATA-III 2.5 inch + Gembird Molex F - Molex M + SATA M, 13.5cm

4. 3TB linux md RAID1 (2X WD Red 3TB SATA-III IntelliPower 64MB ) The server disk enclosure is connected to the extra LSI SAS HBA internal port.

5. HBA:  LSI SAS 9207-4i4e Host Bus Adapter Kit (4 Port Internal, 4 Port External, 6Gb/s SATA+ SAS, PCIe3.0 HBA)

6. Back-up Device HP StorageWorks LTO-4 Ultrium 1760 SAS External Tape Drive connected to the extra LSI SAS HBA external port

7. Power Back-up UPS nJoy Septu 600

8. HP ILO ADVANCED PK SINGLE SVR