RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Replacing aging EX490 with a Gen8

furtive

Hi, newbie here. I've spent the morning reading loads of threads but am looking for some advice.

I'm looking to replace my aging HP EX490 HomeServer with a Gen8. I'm looking to buy the following:

HP ProLiant Gen8 G1610T MicroServer £185 from eBuyer (minus £35 cashback)

Kingston ValueRam 8 GB 1,600 MHz DDR3 DIMM Memory Module with Thermal Sensor £56 from Amazon

Anything else I should consder getting? Is it worth getting a 128Gb SSD to put the OS on?

I am going to run iTunes and iHomeServer on it so I can stream stuff to my Apple TVs, and I'll also be running SqueezeServer on it, so need to run a flavour of Windows. I was thinking of getting Windows Server 2012 Essentials or Foundation, or maybe Windows 8.1. What would people recommend?

My EX490 has got 2 x 2Tb drives in it that I am planning to reuse in the new server. They aren't matched drives but are both WD Green I think. The EX490 runs WHS v1 currently so manages data duplication etc automatically. I assume with the Microserver I would need to run RAID1 to get the same sort of redundancy? Is it easy enough to add more drives to the RAID array in the future when I need more capacity? Is there any alternative to using RAID1 I should consider?

Finally, all the EX490 runs HP MediaCollector to automatically grab any media from PC's around the house. How can I achieve something similar with the new server?

Thanks.

I think it is worthwhile to get the SSD.

What OS you want to run depends on what you want to do. If backup of Client Computers is important, then Windows Server 2012 Essentials is a good choice IMHO.

Instead of RAID1 you might want to consider using Stablebit DrivePool. It's probably the closest thing to Drive Extender you're going to find (it does have data duplication).