RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Waiting on delivery of Gen 8, Have questions

ersen.o

I was looking for a nas drive and decided it was cheaper and better t get a gen 8 microserver

for now i just want to install xpenology on it and use it as a server for my XBMC so i can keep my pc off

ive been reading alot about it getting ready for when it arrives but i have not found a direct guide on what i need todo to get Xpenology on it?

can anyone help

from what i gathered when i receive it, i plug in my monitor, keyboard and and update all the bios e.t.c before i do anything

then i follow on screen instructions to install ESXi?

then i have no idea what i do next, im not a dummy when it comes to computers, im just new to the network side of things!

is there a certain version i need to download? 

sorry if this has been asked before, but i have not seen a direct guide for the Gen 8

I don't understand where ESXi comes into the picture. I have an experimental XPenology configuration that boots from a USB flash drive, but it doesn't use ESXi.

Here's a link to a thread I started about my experience: http://homeservershow.com/forums/index.php?/topic/8401-ikons-xpenology-experience, and a direct link to the guide I used to install XPenology: http://cyanlabs.net/Thread-Installing-Synology-DSM-without-USB-or-ESXi .

Thanks alot guys, that helped me alot :) it comes tomorrow i let you know how it goes!

Edited by ersen.o

Just be aware that XPEnology seems to be unsupported, and doesn't support DSM5.1.  The guys who wrote and support it seem to have abandoned it.  If you don't mind staying on 5.0 then you will be OK, but it doesn't look like XPEnology will or can be updated to work with 5.1 or later.

I ran it myself, and gave up - the updating methods were terribly difficult and unreliable, and there were a few issues with the drives not spinning down when idle.