RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
gtechwi

WHS 2011 as router / access point

gtechwi

Hello,

I have a Netgear router and range extender that are very old, and are starting to have issues, and need to be replaced. I need fairly high power, as my internet connection is in the garage, and I need good wireless in the house. I currently use a range extender in the house, which has been very stable, albeit very SLOW. I have been using consumer grade routers for many years, and am open to a change. I have looked at products from EnGenius, Ubiquiti, etc....and am open to using one of those, but I am curious about another path....using my always-on server as a WIFI access point.

Does anyone have expereince or thoughts regarding installing a high power WIFI card in the WHS 2011 machine (n54L) and using it as an access point?

Also I would be happy to eliminate a router entirely and use the server for DHCP, with something like http://dhcpserver.sourceforge.net

I am open to any thoughts.....am I on a valid path, or should I stick with conventional routers?

Thank you

ikon

re: WiFi. I would not use an add-in wireless NIC in the server. My experience with these is that they're underpowered and it's hard or impossible to place the antennas optimally. I would be tempted to use a USB device.

re: DHCP. I'm not sure why you would want to use a 3rd party product when WHS2011 has a DHCP server built in.

oj88

Personally, I'd rather run a separate VM and load it up with Sophos Free UTM, Untangle or pfSense (choose your poison). I wouldn't want WHS2011 to be exposed on the Internet and doing the NATting, routing or firewalling.

Looking for a quality wireless NIC that is compatible with the above UTMs can be a challenge. You'd probably want a dual-band 802.11n or ac that supports multiple RX/TX streams. It should be something that can be plugged into a PCI-e slot and has multiple external antenna connectors.