RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Installing Ubuntu to SSD in ODD bay with B120i RAID (1)

meow_for_cookies

Hello,
i recently bought a G8, though i have zero experience in the home server topic. After realizing very quickly, that one does not simply install the hardware components and linux (in my case Ubuntu), i spent days searching for information how to get this machine running quietly (a.k.a. B120i in RAID mode) and with UAC defined RAID 1 for two 3,5" drives as storage. Also i didn't want to put the os on an USB drive, for reliability reasons ...
The key to the problem seems to be HPVSA driver, which is installed from driver injection drive or with Ubuntu MaaS installation - both didn't work for me. The injection drive wasn't deteced and in MaaS mode it didn't install the driver, though it was loaded in the setup.

Anyway, i found this thread and aften a pm to the auther, he/she(? :) ) explained to me how to install the HP Raid driver for Ubuntu and suggested i post my resolution here to help future users.
So my setup is a 64GB SSD in the ODD bay, which connects to the SATA port, and two storage 3TB drives in the first two slots.

• all drives connected, boot the UAC and create a RAID 0 off of the SSD and RAID 1 from both 3.5" drives
  • still in the UAC set the SSD RAID 0 as primary boot device
  • shutdown and unplug the storage drives
  • boot Ubuntu live CD (i used the iLO remote console) and follow the installation steps
  • when asked for the partition to use, select whole partition
  • continue until it asks for the GRUB location, by default it should install to sda, but in my case i had to specify sdb, which is the SSD, otherwise it would fail
  • after GRUB is installed reboot
  • in Ubuntu installation proceed to install the HPVSA driver, i'll quote Royco on this part:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:hp-iss-team/hp-storage
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:hp-iss-team/hpvsa-update
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install hpvsa