RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Power supply to fit in my old Dell machine?

Joshua B

Context:

Hi. First post. I'm new to WHS after a Technet download and my first install on an old Dell Optiplex GX280 mid-tower that I bought used just for running it. WHS and this box are retiring a D-Link DNS-321. It's so much faster! It's running 4 SATA hard drives thanks to a PCI add-in card with two internal SATA II connectors, 2 gigs of RAM. The processor is a P4 2.0 ghz. I use the server mostly for serving my FLAC music collection (mostly ripped from my CDs) to my PCs and Sonos, and also some torrent downloads, but look forward to using it in new ways in the future.

Question:

Should I upgrade the 250 watt stock power supply? I had decided to but didn't do enough research. I ordered this "ENERMAX ECO80+ EES620AWT 620W ATX12V V2.31 SLI & Crossfire Ready Compatible w/Core i7 80PLUS Certified w/Magnetic Magma Fan Active PFC Power Supply":

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817194049

When it arrived I finally realized that Dell's power supply has non-standard placement C14 connector and on/off switch. So I guess no standard power supply will work with this case? I want to keep the power supply for a future PC build. But for now, do you think I should continue to run my machine with the stock power supply? If not, what power supply will work? Dell brand only?

Here's a shot of the non-standard power supply.

dell.jpg

Thanks for any advice.

A couple of things come to mind when I read your post. Are you really set on keeping the P4? That box uses a lot of energy and probably is producing a lot of heat. Are you having a problem that makes you suspect a bad power supply? Using the specs you listed (P4 2Ghz, 4 SATA drives, 1 PCI SATA Card) I ran some numbers using a power supply calculator and depending on the assumptions you are right near the limit on the power supply.