RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

External Storage

bevnet

Hi,

Clearly storage is an issue, i have bought a PCI-e card which has a couple of eSATA ports, which i plan to to with an external storage device.

I've been looking at an EdgeStore DAS501T 5 Bay eSATA DAS Enclosure..as it's supposed to be able to give access to each drive in the enclosure individually via the one eSATA connection.. does anyone have any experience of this, or other recommendations, i know ICY BOX has been mentioned before..

Also, what's the thoughts on using RAID, and if so which do people use and why ?? The above EdgeStore comes with SATARAID5 Array Manager software.. is it any good etc ???

Thanks

Ian.

I don't have much to chime in on for eSATA enclosure other than I have plenty of experience with Icy Dock products, and the build quality never disappoints and it is usually worth the extra price. As far as RAID, however, I would say to generally avoid it with WHS. WHS uses its own software-based RAID technology specifically geared at allowing you to use a variety of drives of different makes and sizes. Most hardware RAID doesn't play well with this. Using WHS also gives you the opportunity to duplicate some shares (important files) and not others (music, tv recordings, etc.) This allows you to properly balance usable storage with redundancy.

I say this, but I will confess that I personally use a hardware RAID solution. I had some issues with folder duplication during the beta and RTM builds, so I use an HP SATA/SAS controller with 4 RAID 1 mirrors. I get really good performance out of the solution, but it does seem overkill now that it appears as if my original issues with folder duplication have cleared up.

Thanks for the update, i have turned off folder duplication, as i copy all the shares off the server onto external USB drives, which i just use for this purpose..