RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

HP Microserver Raid 1 disk replacement

JonWill

Newbie here, and not sure if I'm posting in the correct place!

I have a HP Proliant Microserver, with 4 drives installed, running WHS 2011.  Two of the drives installed when I set it up were running in a RAID 1 configuration.  Now one of these drives has failed.  I thought that the point of RAID 1 was the ability to drop a new drive in and have the mirror rebuild itself - however that does not seem to work!  The drive is in place, and recognised.  What I have tried:

• Going into the BIOS and setting the drive configuration to RAID.  This puts the system into a loop, and will not boot up WHS.  resetting to IDE goes back to normal
  • Looking at "Disk Management" in Server Manager shows the drive is in place.  Initially it showed the failed replication.  I have (after trying many things) removed the mirror.  However, now I cannot mirror to the new drive, as I assume it is slightly diffferent (the exact model drive was not available).

So, my questions:

• Is there any way to build a RAID 1 array on non-identical drives?
  • Can I mirror the remaining drive to my new non-odentical drive?
  • Can I uase an internal drive for a WHS 2011 server backup (the answer to this seems to be no)
  • Or do I, as seems the case, have to copy the data from the old drive the new drive, buy another one of these drives and set up a mirror?

Thanks for any help!

Jon

A question: what did you use to set up the mirror: the RAID chipset on the motherboard, or Disk Manager in WHS2011?

Yes, you can build mirrors using different sized drives - the mirror will be the size of the smaller drive.