RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
CablDeViL

Kids Dvd's

CablDeViL

I just wanted to get your opinion on what baby educational dvds I should start purchasing. I don't know anything about this type of genre. I know this is WAY off topic but I trust this group of users here at HSS.

Thank you for your opinion

roddy

Try this one http://www.yourbabycanread.com/

I am by no means an expert on infant pedagogy, but I did try it on my kids and they learned to read really early.

HTH :D

cskenney

I would recommend Baby Einstein. My next choice is Signing Time.

Here is why I make these recommendations. I have a 5 1/2 year old daughter who is now reading stories to her classmates at pre-school. These videos rely on repetition and visual aids to help teach kids language. The words are put in front of them, not just pictures, not just sounds, but everything. My daughter picks up the sign language extremely fast. My next paragraph will tell you how she uses it.

My 2nd reason for recommending these videos is my 4 year old son. He is autistic. He is extremely visual. He doesn't understand just words. Give him a word with the sign language gesture and he will understand the sign language and eventually the words. He now watches the Baby Einstein videos and does the signs and says the words before the video (he has probably memorized it but I don't care). My daughter will actually bring things to her little brother and do the sign and say the word and wait for him to repeat it back to her. Some days he does it, other days he does not.

I guess what I am trying to tell you is many people will tell you to not allow your child to watch videos. I would agree from the standpoint that a video player is not a babysitter. However, you will find that you or your spouse will need time to cook, clean, use the computer, etc. and you need to be able to put the child somewhere that they won't get into trouble. I advocate giving them something that will help them learn. Hope this helps.