RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Gen8 Drive Bay Error

TusGen8

Hi Folks, 

Noob here, please excuse me if I step wrongly at times.

I tried searching for this error in the forum but could not find a similar issue - so I am starting a new thread to seek help.

I bought a Gen 8 server recently together with 16GB RAM and 4 x 2TB WD Red HDDs.

Everything was fine on install until after I did the ACU setup for my drive array. Then everything went to pieces.

The first hint of problem was a message similar to this (This was not the 1st error, but after many similar errors I took this photo.)

At boot time, it shows drive bay errors. This particular one shows Bay 1, 2 and 4 operational.
At times it says only 2 bays are operational, at times 1 and at times 3.
Or it says that a particular bay or bays have failed.

I tried deleting the array and recreating the array and  then the logical drive. At times it shows all 4 physical drives available at times only 3 or fewer. 

I tried unplugging and swapping the bays; I check the insertion of the bays, and I tried power cycling, removing everyting and reinstalling all the hardware, but the errors consistently display the drive bay errors, but varies between how many drives are faulty.

I called HP - they asked to install a bunch of firmware, and I did everything except for the  B120i Controller Firmware 

It seems to me that I could only launch this firmware update AFTER windows had been installed. This is a chicken and egg situation, as I can't seem to get windows installed until I get the drives working in the first place.

All the hardware is new, and even if a drive is faulty - I can't imagine all the drives are faulty at once. It may be the b120i controller itself - or perhaps the firmware DOES need to be upgraded. 

I tried upgrading the firmware from the Intelligent provision firmware update - however, it managed to update all the other firmware except this B120i firmware - it did not update that.