RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Storage Spaces

brandonb1987

So I decided to expand my virtual disk in storage spaces, that went fine, until my volume disappeared...how do I get it back? It doesn't even give me the option to create a new volume at all. Any ideas? I had over 1TB of data on there.  Odd thing is the Virtual disk in storage spaces is still there but no drive assigned.  Is it all lost? I'm new to the whole WS game so i'm quite worried. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Edited by brandonb1987

Yes, backups. I hope you have them.

Although I, and many others on these forums, would advise against using Storage Spaces and recommend either RAID or a software drive organizer like DrivePool of DriveBender, the truth is no drive system is indestructible. Backups are a must, if you want to protect your data.

To your question, I don't know of any way to recover data from a corrupted Storage Space, sorry.

Well after googling and nothing short of pulling my hair out (I may have a few bald spots now...), I may have found the one and only thing that works (for a price sadly).  ReclaiMe!  http://www.storage-spaces-recovery.com/  I downloaded the trial, it pulls up everything that was/is on my pool - included this messed up virtual disk portion.  Selected the down disk, push a button and BAM! There it all is! Everything that was lost shows up in a directory tree as if it was a drive on the left, file specifics on the right, and it slowly retrieves everything (obviously the more data you need to recover the longer it takes).  80$ for the windows only file system, 200$ for Mac/Windows/Linux version.  Highly recommend it for those who do use WS2012 R2 or any other system to recover data mishaps. Check it out!

• Like 1

Nice find. Thanks for posting about it. Who knows who else may benefit.