RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

New eSATA card or P222 to work with Sans Digital 8 Bay SATA Enclosure

mav

Hello All,

I'm quite new to the server scene and am not very technical when it comes to server related topics, so please excuse me if my questions (and/or system setup) seem quite silly.

My current setup is a HP Gen 8 Microserver, with 4x4TB WD Reds and a Samsung SSD.  I rearranged the wiring so the SSD boots up from port 1, and one of the WD Reds boots from the ODD.  All of the drives are running JBOD in AHCI mode with stablebit drivepool.  This is very stable and worked very well for my needs.

A few months ago, I figured I would eventually need more space, so I purchased a Sans Digital 8 Bay SATA enclosure (ST-SAN-TR8M6G) and it came with a Rocketraid 642L controller card.  I then added in another 2x4tb WD Reds and added it to the drivepool.  This setup also worked well for 3 months or so.  Recently, I started getting errors with the controller dropping in and out causing the server to crash constantly (reading the feedback on the card, it seems to be quite common).  It has been quite frustrating to say the least and I'm at the point where I want to invest in a good controller.

That's where the P222 comes along.  From what I read, the P222 doesn't support JBOD, so I'll need to setup the drives as RAID 0 (which is fine by me).  This new proposed setup begs a few questions:

• Am I able to run the P222 drives as RAID 0 concurrently with the drives in the Gen 8 in AHCI mode?  Or do they all need to be in RAID 0? 
  • In regards to connecting the controller to the enclosure, on Amazon, there's a SAS to esata cable, where 1 mini sas cable is split into 4 esata cables. Would plugging in 2 (of the 4) esata cables into the 8 bay enclosure from the 1 external p222 sas port work?  Or will I also need to use the internal sas port and route it outside? Or is this whole thing not even possible or foolish even?

Any feedback would be most appreciated.  Thank you.