RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Installing Windows 7 OS onto SSD

Awful I.T.

Ok this is my first post ever in a forum so if that can tell you just how lost i really am. I have had my Gen8 for approximately 5 days and have still to this day been unable to install Windows 7 onto my SSD which is hooked up properly. When i boot from the disk it goes accordingly and i press install OS. Then i choose custom so i can choose which disk to put the OS on. However when i do this is says that there is no drives to put them on, when i have my SSD hooked up and i have a 4 TB Western Digital HDD(red) in the bay. I don't know if i am just completely missing something but i cannot for the life of me figure this out. I am very new to servers and have only recently learned about computers enough to work on them. So yes I'm a newb if you must say. Please Help!!!

Hello and Welcome.  Do the drives show in the BIOS?  How old of an image is the install disc.  You shouldn't need any drivers for that OS to see either of those drives, but the first thing to check is to make sure the drives are showing up in the BIOS and to make sure the SSD is the first boot option.  Also, are you using the Intelligent Provision option to install the OS?

Hello and Welcome.  Do the drives show in the BIOS?  How old of an image is the install disc.  You shouldn't need any drivers for that OS to see either of those drives, but the first thing to check is to make sure the drives are showing up in the BIOS and to make sure the SSD is the first boot option.  Also, are you using the Intelligent Provision option to install the OS?