RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
hisnameisdome

Best solution for special home server demands?

hisnameisdome

Hey guys!

For the last days I've been researching online non-stop for a good solution for my rather complex (from my point of view) problem, but I'm near desperation. I hope that you guys can help me out!

At the bottom line it's all about a home entertainment and file management system. The core functions are NAS + cloud, media center, gaming and some sort of web. My first and biggest question there is: Is it possible to realize all this with a single machine?

On the software side I would use Windows 8(.1) as the operating system, OpenMediaVault for the NAS functionality, ownCloud for the cloud capabilities and Plex as the media center. For the hardware I first wanted the HP MicroServer N54L, but I guess the CPU isn't up to my needs, so I think I have to build the machine on my own. I'm a total novice at hardware and everything I came up with is that I'll need a SSD for the OS and programs and some big HDDs for the NAS and therefore a multi-bay system. Unfortunately, I have no idea which CPU or motherboard I need.

I imagine the scenario like this: A server functioning as central hub for everything is hooked up to the TV + wireless USB keyboard with trackpad and has wired connection to the network. It's possible to watch movies, which are stored on itself (NAS) with the usage of Plex (media center) on the TV itself or on a tablet. It's also possible to play a game on the TV (since the OS of the machine is Windows) and to even run a little game server (like Minecraft) on it. When being on the go I can access my files from the NAS on my smartphone via ownCloud. And when connected to the network it's possible to call a webpage from the server on any end device with the status information of the server like CPU usage, heat etc.