Jump to content
RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

I did something really stupid... deleted "default website" and reinstalled IIS


Mycophiles
 Share

Recommended Posts

Trying to start from scratch I did this.  Little did I know that reinstalling IIS does not give you back your default website.

 

Trying to restore from backup ... the latest backup I have is after I deleted the default website.

 

Is there some way someone can install IIS can do a backup and share that backup with me?  Would that work for me?

 

After scouring the web I cannot find a way to restore IIS back to it's original configuration.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The backups are incremental meaning there is a copy there before you deleted it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The backups are incremental meaning there is a copy there before you deleted it.

Yea, they are incremental and there were about 10 of them.  I picked the very first one and the default website was not there.  They are numbered incrementally also so I decided to try to do a backup BEFORE the first one and the computer gave me an error.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Disconnect the data drives wipe the OS drive and never look back.

Then rethink your backup strategy.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Disconnect the data drives wipe the OS drive and never look back.

Then rethink your backup strategy.

Yes, most definitely lesson learned. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm puzzled a bit. I can't understand how it is that the files for the default web site would not be in the backup.

 

Is this Windows Server Backup we're talking about?

 

Are you backing up the entire OS drive (C:)?

 

Are you certain that you picked a backup that actually contained the default web site? Is it possible you restored from a backup that was done before you enabled the Web Server Role? Is it possible the files are actually in a backup from only a day or 2 ago (IOW, just before you deleted the default web site)?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

IIS has it's own backup and restore feature, IIRC. And I think that's what he's referring to.

 

You should be able to restore to right before you "edited" the config. That's the best choice.

 

Otherwise, the initial save will be the clean state of IIS BEFORE it installs all the "Essentials" stuff.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

IIS has it's own backup and restore feature, IIRC. And I think that's what he's referring to.

 

You should be able to restore to right before you "edited" the config. That's the best choice.

 

Otherwise, the initial save will be the clean state of IIS BEFORE it installs all the "Essentials" stuff.

I wish I could restore from right before I deleted the default website. It appears I would have to do a restore of the system from before.  

 

Of course I've done a backup of all the computers on the network but I haven't done a backup of the server.  So I'm going to end up having to do a restore from disk. 

 

Yaay!  Go me. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...