RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

So I built a new box for my home lab... Long time no see.

JayBee

Hi all,

I have not posted here for awhile but recently used the forums as a resource as I decided it was time for me to build a new server for my LAB. Surprisingly enough I've never built a server for myself and have always just used older servers from my clients (usually old Acer servers or entry level Dells, one of the benefits of working as a contractor I suppose. The trouble with this is the hardware is usually insufficient and I decided I'd treat myself to something new for a change.

I already had a spare 500gb SAS drive and a 430 watt power supply lying around, both of which where brand new, albeit brand new 3 years ago :P
I went ahead and ordered the following from my supplier:

1 XSPC 120mm Xinruilian Fan 2000RPM
  1 MSI Radeon 5450 1GB
  1 ASRock B85M-PRO4 Motherboard
  1 Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3
  1 Highpoint RocketRAID 640L Controller
  3 Seagate Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM001
  2 Kingston Hyper X Fury HX316C10FRK2/16 16GB (2x8GB) Red
  1 SOHO 5113D3 ATX Mid Tower Case