RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

VM with dedicated graphics card?

NuclearJam

Hi, newbie here but long time lurker!

I am planning to replace my ageing HP N40 Server (Win 2012 R2) and would like at the same time to move my desktop machine (Win 7) onto the same new hardware. What I can't figure out is whether or not I can assign specific hardware, for example the graphics card to one specific VM.

I would like for a Win 2012 VM to run with access being only via RDP once the set-up has been completed. Alongside this I would like to run a Windows 7 (or 8) VM which will have a couple of users login to use as a desktop OS. Ideally I would like to have a monitor, keyboard and mouse connected directly to the hardware which would have exclusive access to the Win 7 (or 8) VM.

I have read about hardware which supports VT-d which sounds like it would kind of achieve what I'm looking to do but am not sure whether I would need to use VMWare or Hyper-V.

Hopefully the above makes some sense, is any of this possible or just an absurdly weird way of wanting to do things?

Edited by NuclearJam

Hi thanks for the reply, I guess server 2012 would be the host OS? I'm looking at an i5 4670k Haswell CPU and either a Z87 or Z97 motherboard. What features would I specifically be looking for to achieve what I want here?

Set up a thin client then? Something that launches the RDP file by default.