RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Southern California Enthusiast

rcurry71

Hello everyone. I am new to the whole concept of a home server. Is there anyone in the Southern California area (I live in Riverside) that would be willing to speak with me and perhaps give me a consultation. If so, send me a private message and I will provide you with my phone number. I would want someone that not only understands Home Servers, but also networking. I have an Xbox 360 and would want to connect to that as well. Another plus would be someone who has experience in backing up off-site/online.

I do not know if I should build yet or purchase, primarily because i do not know what the pros and cons are yet. I assume building one would give greater flexibility, but I have gained the impression that HP has made the set up and maintenance extra easy.

Thanks!

Did not want to disappoint. Had a good conversation earlier. Hopefully we have a new member and convert to WHS.

I just returned home (via some heavy L.A. traffic... yes at 9:30PM) with an HP EX490. I'm in! I bought 2 extra HDD and will set it up tomorrow hopefully.

Guest no-control

I live in Eastvale(norco/ontario) if you need help let me, Doc, or Tim know. Glad to see you're not wasting any time getting set up :)

Sent you a PM

Thanks to both of you guys!

I set it up last night (early morning actually LOL). I have backed up my laptop and my data drive on my desktop so far.

I had problems backing up my OS drive on the desktop for some reason. I tried a couple times to no avail. I will look more into it later today hopefully.

I have a critical status message. It says I need to reinstall HP Media Collector. I will also look into that later today.