RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

I think I got in over my head. All I wanted was the ability of Access Anywhere

Mycophiles

I've been running Server 2008 R2 for a couple years.  My server serves as a file storage device and has hosted a webpage at several points in time and as a Subsonic Server.

Because I am a Student got Windows Home Server 2012 R2 Standard for free so I upgraded.  After watching some podcasts I decided to enable access anywhere to try it out.

For Server 2012 r2 standard, as I'm sure you all know, you need to install the Essentials plugin.  I did, and when you do so It asks you to setup a domain.  I didn't necessarily want a domain but I went along with it.  

I have 4 computers in the house as well as a Ruku, AppleTV that access the server for several reasons.  

3 computers are not able to join the domain ( not pro/business versions ) 

1 computer that is a pro/business version.

After setting up the domain I ran the http://myservername/access on all the computers thinking it would allow the computers to access the shared drives but that didn't work.  Also, if the server goes down it appears that my computers cannot access the internet. 

What can I do to remove the computers from the domain and be able to see the shared drives on the server.  I'd like to be able to use access anywhere but I'd much rather be able to access the shared drives.

I really like the podcasts btw.  Wish I had found them earlier.

-Thanks

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Drashna Jaelre

• ikon

• Poppapete

• Mycophiles

I started to write a response but the realized it was getting too complex.

Let's start with some simple stuff.

Do you use accounts on your client PCs? What I mean is, do you have to log into them whenever they're rebooted?

Ohh.. yes.  All the computers have client accounts.  Yes, one computer also does log into the domain.  Sorry