RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
rcurry71

Build One Now, Buy One Now, or Wait until Vail?

Build One Now, Buy One Now, or Wait until Vail?  

10 members have voted

1. 1. Should I Build now, Buy now, or wait until Vail?

• Build a Home Server
    • Buy a Home Server (Such as an HP)
    • Wait until Vail

rcurry71

Hello everyone!

I am new to the forum and new to home servers. I have been wanting to create a systematic and recurring back up the PCs on my home network both locally and off-site (not as frequent) for a long time. Although I am still learning all that a WHS does, I am thinking that a WHS will be the local solution for back ups (Data, audio, home movies). I have learned that there is a new OS, Vail, coming out soon. How soon? I know I will not be able to easily upgrade to it (32 vs. 64). I am not sure what to do... hence my poll question. Summers are NOT as hectic for me, so now would be a great time to set one up. Yet, I do not want to build/buy something that will not be supported well (because 64 bit Vail will 'take over').

I have lots of questions about how a WHS works. For example: when there are 4 drives in a system, is the data that is backed up, backed up to all four drives so retrieval is fast and if one dies you can recover by replacing the bad disk? Or does one drive fill up before data is stored on the second? Did I make sense? :)

Thanks in advance for your answers/advice.

cskenney

rcurry71 - Welcome to the HomeServerShow.com forums. You have a lot of questions in your one post so I hope I don't miss anything.