RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

What CPU/Motherboard to you recommend for running WHS2011 with outside chance I may upgrade to Windows Server 2012 R2

javaman

What CPU/Motherboard to you recommend for running WHS2011 with outside chance I may upgrade to Windows Server 2012 R2

I don't want to break the bank but I'm looking for a MB that will last 7+ years. I plan on just using the GPU on the Motherboard. 

Thanks

I've been running the equipment below for two years now.  The part you didn't mention is what you intend to do, the roles on the server.

Core i3 Sandy Bridge-8Gigs DDR3.  No transcoding but it does serve media to HTPC's

I personally recommend Haswell, but overall, Intel. I've always had issues with AMD. They run waay too hot (and always need an aftermarket heatsink), use a lot of electricity, and have been much more unstable for me....

But for WHS2011, something that supports 8GB of RAM or more. WHS2011 maxes out at 8GB (which you should definitely max out), but Server 2012R2 Essentials supports up to 64GB of RAM IIRC.

If you're not going to be doing much, then a Pentium CPU (modern one, such as a haswell/LGA1150) would be more then enough. Even for essentials.

However, if you're going to be doing a lot more on it, such as transcoding, a Core i3 is a good idea. But it depends on what you want to do.

Yes, basically with this server I plan on backing up all my families 3 PC's, and hosting Ripped movies and music etc to serve to my HTPC.  I don't plan on using it for transcoding but my plans could change so I would probably want at least an i3.

An i3 with 8 gigs will serve you just nicely.  If this serves your needs for the next three years, anything else is overkill.

• Like 1

Ugg, now I know why you said 3 years, you should have said 2 years as support ends for WHS 2011 on 4/12/16; http://support.microsoft.com/lifecycle/search/default.aspx?sort=PN&alpha=Windows+Home+Server