RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Adding Survaillance Fucntionality to HP N54L

Bmouthboyo

Hi Guys,

Many firsts for me. First time setting up a Home Server, First time renting a house and first time installing a full home surveillance system.

I live in Bangkok and am moving into a rented house soon and would like to install up to 3 cameras so that when me and my wife are away on holidays we feel a bit more secure about our home.

I am installing a N54L home server soon, mainly for shared storage, media streaming and playing with windows server essentials 2012. All Cat6 wired around to the home with Gigabit switches etc. I have some experience with Yawcam and was impressed using just my logitech webcam.

I would like to know if it is worth using my Home Server over a dedicated DVR given I want:

- Have 3 infra-red cameras for day and night usage
- Option to view the cameras live over the internet
- Option to view cameras when home (see who is at door etc)
- Be alerted via email if motion is detected when on holiday with included image
- Have reasonable quality images
- Maybe option to record footage (if movement)(Not essential)
- Not have to spend too much money (under £300 / $400)

I have tools to make up Ethernet cable ends etc and fairly handy with DIY tasks. But as the property is rented I would like to keep drilling holes etc to a minimum.

Am I correct in thinking I need IP cameras and I can get Cat5 cameras that could get power over the cable also? How would this connect to my Home Server? Additional Hardware or just over Gigabit network? What software would be able to meet my above requirements? Any recommendations on good value IR cameras?

Finally is it even an advantage using my Home Server to do the job of a DVR? Or is it better to just go with a kit that has cameras and DVR all setup and ready to install? What would the benefits be of using my own Home Server with IP cameras over a DVR Kit ready to go?

Cheers