RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Sign in to follow this  
IAmTheDude

Would Like Some Advice On Upgrades

IAmTheDude

Hi

I'm currently studying for my MTA and then the MSCE so am going to be spending a little more time with my N54L this year.

I'm in the process of upgrading my PC and want to add a little more to the N54L to get it running at a more suitable level for my exams.

When it first arrived I put in my 2x2TB drives from my old NAS in JBOD and set 2008R2 on it to quickly get my media back up and running on the network. Since then I haven't really thought about it. In fact I completely forgot that it was a server and not just a NAS any more  -_-

I'm hoping I could get some insight on a couple of things from you guys to help me on my way.

Firstly, I currently have Patriot G Series 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-10666C9 1333MHz Dual Channel (PGS34G1333ELK) in my PC but haven't been able to find any information in the compatibility with the N54L. Hoping I can as it will save me that little bit of cash for the time being

If not then I'm looking at this RAM to take it to 8GB (PNY Optima 4GB DIMM Module DDR3-1333MHz PC3-10660 Retail)

I understand the ECC/Non-ECC but for now its not mission critical and will suffice. I would eventually need to take it to 16GB to get the best out of Hyper-V etc but that's for the future.

Secondly, I'm running it through VGA to a 19" TV as I had a spare so the graphics are just usable (mostly use RDP from my main PC) but am looking to add a card to use HDMI.

I don't spend a lot of time with graphics hardware but reading HSS I see that a Radeon 5450 or 6450 is a good way to go.

I've found these so far Sapphire HD 5450 2GB & Sapphire HD 5450 1GB or Sapphire HD 6450 1GB & MSI HD 6450 2G.

I'm lost when it comes to this 1GB vs 2GB, 5450 vs 6450 etc and are all in the same price bracket  :unsure: