RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

WSE R2 Essentials use dedicated NIC for DHCP

ChadRT

I have a very nice server to work with it is a Dell Power Edge and has plenty of memory and horsepower to last me a lifetime.  I want to use to replace my router completely.  Everything is hardwired but my tablets and phones.  So I once completed I want those to connect to an access point.

I have 3 NIC's in the box one of them is onboard and two are intel pro series.  All of them are 1GBs units

I want to run them like this:

WAN

LAN

BackupInternet

I have the WAN working great and I have DHCP turned on and active in the ServerManager but it wont assign an IP off the other NIC.  Can anyone help me in where I went wrong.  I am very new to this so please be patient with me on my stupidity.

Thanks,

Chad

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jmwills

• ikon

• jem101

• ChadRT

Top Posters In This Topic

Couple questions/suggestions:

1) I assume you aren't running Hyper-V (I ask because if one of the NICs were dedicated to Hyper-V you would not see an IP assigned to it from the bare metal server perspective. It *would* still have an IP assigned when looking at your router however, which brings us to...)

2) Have you looked at your routers DHCP settings to ensure it did not assign an IP and/or you have IP space available?

3) Might want to try statically assigning IPs. It is "best practice" anyway for server NICs. Normally I do it by MAC from my router, and then the NIC technically pulls a DHCP IP from the router, but it is always the same IP. You can, instead, assign the NIC an IP directly from the Server OS, which might be best as you troubleshoot.