RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

N54l, 16gb ram running ESXI 5.5 - need help re passthrough and general stuff

baldfox

Hey guys. Wondering if someone can help me. I'm a bit new to this VMWare stuff.

In a nutshell I've managed to install esxi 5.5 via usb stick in an HP N54l with 16gb of ram and can set up a few virtual machines running windows (7 and 8) and Ubuntu. For the life of me I cannot get the virtual machines to pass through the graphics card (ati radeon 6450 in microserver). My aim was to get the microserver running whs or a server variant (poss win server 2012), and then openelec or xbmc outputting xbmc over hdmi. I'm just stumped now.

Anyone managed to do this ? I mean can't get gpu pass through on windows either. Looking for a tutorial online but coming up short.

Couple of points to add-

A) used generic 5.5 didn't use hp specific bundle

B) didn't mod the bios (yet)

C) have esxi on usb, vm's on the inc 250gb drive - not added the other drives yet.

Think I really need some esxi 101 pointers...

Can't passthrough usb either :(

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

• 3 weeks later...

Just modded the bios to latest version, but still stumped with graphics card passthrough. Any pointers?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

The NL54 does not support IOMMU for enabling PCI passthrough so that will not work.

You would be better off installing Windows 7 on it and and running the other VMs via workstation if you want to use this for both XBMC and virtual machine hosting.

Some things are just better off on a physical box.  If you want XBMC on the cheap, I'd get a Raspberry Pi and run it from there.

GPU Passthrough is sketchy at best on most hypervisors, and in some cases, may require advanced features (e.g., UEFI BIOS which the N54L does not have) to get a reasonable implementation.  Heck, USB passthrough is still sketchy on multiple hypervisors.