RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

HP Microserver as 4 Bay NAS....options ?

jerzy_bulovski

Hi,

I've been running a ReadyNAS Duo for a few years and it's getting full so I'm thinking of getting a new "NAS"

I've thought about getting another Readynas as it has been a solid performer even if the transfer rates never matched the blurb. Still, I'd rather have my data intact and it has certainly done that even after some drive failures.

I've been looking at some Synology solutions but I also like the idea of a Microserver. So, I have some questions and, apologies if these have been asked before.....

Hardware or software RAID?

Freenas:

Since it's essential that you know what to do if your NAS goes wrong, I've played around with Freenas on virtual machines before and basically done things like create a virtual machine with Freenas installed along with a couple of virtual hard disks that serve as components for a mirrored RAID. I tried some things out like removing single drives etc and discovered that it didn't work very well at all (I lost the volume); when I spoke to the guys in the Freenas support room, there was some scratching of heads and no one could really work out what had gone wrong. By this time, I'd lost trust in using it but I suspect it may have had something to do with using UFS.

Over the last few days, though, I've tried it again and set up a ZFS-based RAID and, to be honest, it's performed nicely. I've removed individual drives in turn and it's informed me that the RAID is degraded and allowed me to "replace" one of the drives. I've also trashed the Freenas install, reinstalled to a fresh drive then imported the RAID volume that that worked quite nicely, too - no loss of data.