RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

running essentials as VM on regular Win 2012 Server Standard

djbills

Hi all - I'm fortunate (I guess) to have been given a license of Windows 2012 Server Standard to be run on my little n54L.

Only problem is that my purpose is really much better suited for Essentials - small design company and we really only need this server to support roaming profiles and some other windows things, not even as a main fileserver (have a synology set up already for that).  way less than 25 users.  dozen or so.  So I'd rather not spend the money on CALs, added IT overhead, etc.

But I've read you can run regular server standard and us a VM slot for Essentials and kind of get the best of both.

I'm a Win Server newbie and wondering if you all might know of a guide or step by step that can help me get this going?  I'm having a hard time coming up with anything - I might be searching for the wrong terms.

Thanks in advance.

I think you're correct about Essentials. From what I recall, to set up Essentials on your server, you simply go into the Server Manager, click on the Roles option and select the Essentials Experience Role. This is, or course, after setting up WS2012.

One caveat: do you have a licence for the original WS2012 or is it for WS2012r2? I believe only r2 has the Essentials Experience Role. Also, I believe that CALs are required when using Essentials Experience. Here's a link so some info: http://download.microsoft.com/download/F/3/9/F39124F7-0177-463C-8A08-582463F96C9D/Windows_Server_2012_R2_Licensing_Datasheet.pdf

The way I understood it, if you run the essentials role from standard, you still have to have CALs.  But if I understand correclty, if I virtualize Essentials (and not run it as a role) I don't need the CALs.  Standard can run 2 VM slots.